I Want My Bike Back!

Don’t you hate it when you lose something?

You’ve looked everywhere and tried everything but it’s gone. And of course it’s some item you really loved or needed.. Always! Sometimes, even years later you remember that which was lost and wish you could get it back.

Some years back I bought a new bike and just a few weeks later a friend and I took a ride down to one of the local coffee shops one evening to study together. Halfway there we realized we had forgotten to bring our bike locks, but since we were already on our way we decided to chance it. Outside the shop we found an old bike lock and put it around our bikes to make them appear locked. Then we went inside. A couple of hours later it was time to go home, but one bike was gone – mine – the new one, of course. After asking around if anyone had seen anything we decided we just had to head home as it was already past 10 pm. But first my friend suggested we go back to where the bikes had been parked and declare the bike back!
And so we did.

I want my bike back!” I say
Tonight!” my friend says
And let the thief be convicted and return the bike himself” she adds

Then off we go.
We came to a junction and were about to go left just as we had done before. This time I suggested we’d keep going straight. A minute later a guy crosses the street we’re on. His bike looks very cute and purple.

I look at my friend and say:
That’s my bike!”
Then we both look at each other and say:
Now what are we gonna do?

We know it’s my bike right in front of us but we’re in a deserted, dark street at 10.30 at night. We can’t see the guy clearly and he can easily get away from us.

Well, we never had to do anything. We look at the guy. He looks at us. After crossing the street and coming to a gravel lot on our right, he simply parks the bike and walks off hurriedly. As lame as it sounds all I could think of shouting out to him was
Thank you!

So I got my bike back. It was totally undeserved of course. In this case, it was partly my own fault that this even happened!
Even so, God gave me my bike back!

And this story marks the beginning for me in claiming back that which has been lost or stolen in my life or in the lives of others.

We often think of lost or stolen things being physical objects, such as a bike, car or money, but it may as well be things such as:

Confidence
Innocence
Our voice
Health
Relationships
Joy
Peace
Reputation
Trust

Etc.

Either way, it is clear that it is not God’s will for us to have these things stolen or lost from us.

In John 10:10 Jesus says:
The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy.
I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.

The devil is a thief and tries to take whatever he can from us. But typically, a thief will try to get his hands on the things that are deemed most valuable. Whatever has been lost or stolen from you, do not dismiss it as a small, unimportant thing! If it’s worth stealing it has value.

If you feel grief over something, for instance feeling as if your childhood was taken from you or a relationship with someone, you can claim it back!

“It’s too late now” you might say,
But I say God is a God of miracles and He can redeem anything!
If it seems a lost case just imagine how much greater the redemption will have to be!

Another story:
Last year I brought a journal with me to a church service, but before the night was over I knew that it was missing. So I looked all over the place. Then the following week I looked through the church’s Lost and Found. And if you ever need a Bible (or Five different translations), you should go there and ask…
But my journal was not there. I kept hoping that someone would call me and say they had it, since I always put my name and phone number on the cover page. Not so. Then I searched through my things at home even though I knew deep down that I had left it at church.
After a few weeks I realized that by now the journal was probably in the trash somewhere as it should have shown up by now. No one would have any interest in taking my personal journal.

But as I had lost several things during that season and was pretty fed up with it, I wrote down a list of the things I needed redeemed or turned back to me. It was a quite long list.

One line said:
“I want my journal back!”

I was not ok anymore with losing things or having things stolen from me. NOT OK!

A whole year went by and no journal. Then I received an e-mail from the security team at church:
We have your journal. How can we help get it back to you?”

To this day I don’t know where that journal was for an entire year, but I do know that God redeemed it for me.

Know that whatever your list looks like, God can and will redeem everything! It might not turn out the way you expected though. It could be better!

Leave a Reply

