Giving It Up

Just a few days ago I came home from an amazing, life-altering mission trip. We got to see and be a part of people being saved, healed and delivered. Loved upon. Touched by God. We met people in the dumps. And in the government. We went to schools, hospitals, a jail. We befriended young and old. And we had a lot of fun! 

I have some really good testimonies I could share just from the past two weeks. 

Instead, something else was stirred in my heart to share. 

During the trip I was in a situation where I was about to experience something I’ve contended for for a long time (i.e. years). 

However, I knew this was important for another person as well. 

I didn’t want to miss out on this opportunity that I had been waiting for for so long. 

Ultimately, I felt God saying to me that I wouldn’t lose out even if I gave up my chance for now. If I want something so badly I can’t let others have it for fear I won’t get it myself, it’s better that I’m without. It would become an idol. If I treasure something more than the hearts of others, I need to let it go. 

So, I decided I’d let the other person get the opportunity. As it turns out, something came up, and the opportunity was handed back to me. But I had already made the decision in my heart. What I had contended for, finally happened.

But first, I gave it away. 

 

Leave a Reply

